Skip to Content
Teaching

Professional Learning Contacts

Pursuant to section 1012.98, Florida Statutes, the Florida Department of Education, public postsecondary educational institutions, public school districts, public schools, state education foundations, consortia and other professional organizations work collaboratively to establish a coordinated system of professional development that increases student achievement, enhances classroom instructional strategies that promote rigor and relevance throughout the curriculum, and prepares students for continuing education and the workforce.

To coordinate this work, each school district—including developmental research schools, education consortiums and some private school organizations—has a professional learning director who supervises and guides the professional learning activities for instructional and non-instructional personnel. These directors ensure that local professional learning activities are planned and implemented effectively.

A list of these professional learning directors and their contact information follows.

School Districts

Alachua
Jacquatte Rolle
Director, Professional Development
rollejl@gm.sbac.edu
352-955-7650
Baker
Allen Murphy
Executive Director, Teaching & Learning
everett.murphy@bakerk12.org
904-259-0404
Bay
Peggy Renihan
Supervisor, Educator Quality
renihpa@bay.k12.fl.us
850-767-4326

Bradford
Sherree Alvarez
Director, Teaching, Learning, & Curriculum
alvarez.sherree@mybradford.us
904-966-6816
Brevard
Michael Alba
Director, Professional Learning & Development
alba.mike@brevardschools.org
321-633-1000 x11240
Broward
Dr. Ted Toomer
Director, Professional Development Standards & Support
ted.toomer@browardschools.com
754-321-5006

Calhoun
Tracie Taylor
Director, Curriculum & Instruction
tracie.taylor@calhounflschools.org
850-674-8734 x232
Charlotte
Laura C. Blunier
Director, Professional Development
laura.blunier@yourcharlotteschools.net 
941-255-7675
Citrus
Laura Lindeman
Director, Professional Development
lindemanl@citrusschools.org
352-726-1931 x2232

Clay
Jennifer Shepard
Director, Professional Learning
jennifer.shepard@myoneclay.net
904-336-6951
Collier
Melanie Fike
Administrative Director, Professional Learning & Leadership Development
FikeMe@collierschools.com
239-377-0022
Columbia
Sonya Judkins
Director, Instructional Services
judkinss@columbiak12.com
386-755-8000

DeSoto
Kristie Joens
Associate Director, Instructional Services
kristie.joens@desotoschools.com
863-494-4222
Dixie
Karen Ganus
Director, Elementary & Secondary Education
karenganus@dixie.k12.fl.us
352-541-6339
Duval
Zenia Spaulding
Executive Director, Professional Development
khanachetz@duvalschools.org
904-390-2213

Escambia
Brian Alaback
Director, Professional Learning
balaback@ecsdfl.us
850-595-0030 x289
Flagler
LaShakia Moore
Director, Teaching & Learning
moorel@flaglerschools.com
386-437-7526
Franklin
Jennifer Leach
Director, Curriculum & Instruction
jleach@fcsdfl.org
850-670-2810 x4142

Gadsden
Kameelah Weeks
Director, Professional Learning
weeksk@gcpsmail.com
850-627-9651 x1401
Gilchrist
Krista Perryman
Director, Elementary Education
perrymank@mygcsd.org
352-463-3265
Glades
Beth Vickery
Coordinator, Professional Development and CTE/Adult Education
beth.vickery@glades-schools.org
863-946-2083 x2707

Gulf
Lori Price
Assistant Superintendent, Instruction
lprice@gulf.k12.fl.us
850-229-6940
Hamilton
Carol Milton
Coordinator, Staff Development
carol.milton@hamiltonfl.com
386-792-7800
Hardee
Kristen Rivas
Director, Curriculum
krivas@hardee.k12.fl.us
863-773-9058 x1225

Hendry
Tressa Duncan
Director, Elementary Education
duncant@hendry-schools.net
863-674-4555
Hernando
Dr. Paula Clark
Supervisor, Professional Development
clark_p@hcsb.k12.fl.us
352-797-7070 x437
Highlands
Dr. Carla Ball
Director, Human Resources
ballc@highlands.k12.fl.us
863-471-5668

Hillsborough
Jamalya Jackson
Executive Director, Professional Development
jamalya.jackson@hcps.net
813-840-7358
Holmes
Pamela Price
Administrator, Instruction
pamela.price@hdsb.org
850-547-9341 x1238
Indian River
Kimberly Garcia
Director, Success for Elementary Education
kimberly.garcia@indianriverschools.org
772-564-3014

Jackson
Jennifer See
Director, Elementary Education & Professional Development
jennifer.see@jcsb.org
850-482-1200 x30251
Jefferson
Eydie Triquet
Superintendent
eydie.triquet@
jeffersonschooldistrict.org

850-342-0100 x222
Lafayette
Alissa Hingson
Director, Teaching & Learning Services
ahingson@lcsbmail.net
386-294-4137

Lake
Laine Obando
Director, Professional Learning
obandol@lake.k12.fl.us
352-742-6900
Lee
Dr. Helen Martin
Assistant Director, Professional Development
helenjma@leeschools.net
239-335-1407
Leon
Shane Syfrett
Director, Professional Learning & Curriculum Services
syfretts@leonschools.net
850-487-7837

Levy
John Lott
Assistant Superintendent
john.lott@levyk12.org
352-486-5231
Liberty
Jeff Sewell
Assistant Superintendent
jeff.sewell@lcsb.org
850-643-2275 x11236
Madison
Robin Hill
Director, Curriculum
robin.hill@mcsbfl.us
850-973-1552

Manatee
Dr. Melinda Lundy
Director, Professional Learning
lundym@manateeschools.net
941-751-6550 x43134
Marion
Janet Bittick
Director, Professional Leadership & Learning
janet.bittick@marion.k12.fl.us
352-236-0577
Martin
Heather Platt
Coordinator, Professional Development
platth@martinschools.org
772-219-1200 x30289

Miami-Dade
Dr. Milagros Gonzalez
Administrative Director
mgonzalez5@dadeschools.net
305-995-7616
Monroe
Robin Fry
Director, Professional Development
robin.fry@keysschools.com
305-853-3222 x56375
Nassau
Tia Brown
Director, Professional Development
brownti@nassau.k12.fl.us
904-491-9888

Okaloosa
Karen Peek
Program Director, Staff Services
peekk@okaloosaschools.com
850-833-5857
Okeechobee
Andi Canaday
Coordinator, Staff Development
andrea.canaday@okee.k12.fl.us
863-462-5000 x1095
Orange
Leigh Ann Bradshaw
Associate Superintendent, Professional Learning
leigh.bradshaw@ocps.net
407-317-3200

Osceola
Janice Franceschi
Director, Professional Development
janice.franceschi@osceolaschools.net
407-518-2940
Palm Beach
Anthony Dougherty
Director, Professional Development
anthony.dougherty@palmbeachschools.org
561-649-6822
Pasco
Charlotte Kralik
Program Coordinator, Professional Development
catkins@pasco.k12.fl.us
813-794-2515

Pinellas
Jolene Jackson
Director, Professional Development
jacksonjol@pcsb.org
727-588-6086
Polk
Cheryl Joe
Senior Director, Professional Development
cheryl.joe@polk-fl.net
863-647-4270
Putnam
Jennifer Azula
Director, Teaching & Learning
jazula@my.putnamschools.org
386-329-0538

Santa Rosa
Kelly Short
Director, Inservice and Instructional Technology
shortk@santarosa.k12.fl.us
850-983-5111
Sarasota
Mari Ellen Asplen
Director, Professional Learning
mariellen.asplen@
sarasotacountyschools.net

941-927-9000
Seminole
Beth Pocius
Coordinator, Professional Learning
beth_pocius@scps.k12.fl.us
407-320-0036

St. Johns
Melinda Bogart
Director, Professional Development & Evaluations
melinda.bogart@stjohns.k12.fl.us
904-547-7614
St. Lucie
Denise Rodriguez
Director, Talent Development
denise.rodriguez@stlucieschools.org
772-429-7524
Sumter
John Temple
Director, Professional Learning & Accountability
john.temple@sumter.k12.fl.us
352-748-1510 x51210

Suwannee
Kelli Williams
Coordinator, Professional Development & K-12 Reading
kelli.williams@suwannee.k12.fl.us
386-647-4621
Taylor
Michael Thompson
Director, Special Projects
michael.thompson@taylor.k12.fl.us
850-838-2512
Union
Chris Mecusker
Director, Personnel
mecuskerc@union.k12.fl.us
352-488-5051

Volusia
Wafa Picciolo
Coordinator, Professional Learning 
wpicciol@volusia.k12.fl.us
386-734-7190 x20504
Wakulla
Lori Sandgren
Coordinator, Curriculum
lori.sandgren@wcsb.us
850-926-0065
Walton
Myca Chandler
Coordinator, Instructional Supports
myca.chandler@walton.k12.fl.us
850-892-1100 x1410

Washington
Susan Saunders
Curriculum & Instruction
susan.saunders@wcsdschools.com
850-638-6222

Other School Districts

Florida Department of Corrections
Suzanne Greene
Specialist, Teacher Certification
suzanne.greene@fdc.myflorida.com
850-717-3173
Florida School for the Deaf and the Blind
Randi Mitchell
Executive Director, Curriculum & Professional Development
mitchellr@fsdbk12.org
904-827-2255
Florida Virtual School
Olivia Burns
Director, Staff Development
oburns@flvs.net
561-203-5655

University Schools

Florida A&M University School
Patricia West
Assistant Superintendent
patricia.west@famu.edu
850-412-5930
Florida Atlantic University Schools
Sherry Bees
Director
sbees@fau.edu
561-297-0638
Florida State University School
Suzanne Wilkinson
Principal, K-8; Director, Research & Teacher Education
swilkinson@fsu.edu
850-245-3700

University of Florida University School
Christy Gabbard
Director, Program Development & Outreach
cgabbard@pky.ufl.edu
352-392-1554 x280

Regional Educational Consortiums

Heartland Educational Consortium
Lindsey Johnson
Director, Professional Learning
lindsey.johnson@heartlanded.org
863-531-0444 x202
North East Florida Educational Consortium
Ronda Bourn
Assistant Director, Instructional Services
bournr@nefec.org
386-329-3800
Panhandle Area Educational Consortium
Maria Pouncey, Ed.D
Administrator, Instructional Services
maria.pouncey@paec.org
850-638-6131 x2266

Organizations Serving Private Schools

Association of Christian Schools International
Dr. Barry Morris
Officer, Master Inservice & PEC
support@schoolmission.net
601-467-2632
Association of Independent Schools of Florida
Al Glicksberg
Coordinator, Certification & Inservice
alglicksberg@rivieraschools.com
828-255-1733
Center for the Advancement of Jewish Education
Audrey Maman
Associate Director, School Markets
audreymaman@caje-miami.org
305-576-4030

Christian Schools of Florida
Betsy Wilson
Director, Teacher Certification
bwilson@orangewood.org
407-215-0990
Florida Association of Christian Colleges and Schools
Dr. Brent Jones
Director, Program Services
bjones@faccs.org
772-228-6205
Florida Catholic Conference
Michael Barrett
Associate Director, Education
mbarrett@flacathconf.org
850-205-6823

Florida Council of Independent Schools
Keara Danger
Director, Business & Operations
kdanger@fcis.org
813-287-8820
Florida League of Christian Schools
Michael Burroughs
Executive Director
mburroughs@flocs.org
863-683-5726 x251
Lutheran Florida-Georgia District
Jennifer Tanner
Executive Director
jtanner@flgadistrict.org
407-857-5556 x3

Organizations Serving Charter Schools

Doral Leadership Institute
Idalia M. Suarez
Director, Professional Development
isuarez@doral.edu
305-463-7210
Florida Consortium of Public Charter Schools
Rebecca Katz
Director, Operations
r.katz@floridacharterschools.org
904-940-5749
UCP of Central Florida
Marilyn Underwood
Manager, Grants Compliance
munderwood@ucpcfl.org
407-852-3302