## STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

Consent Item

November 10, 2020

**SUBJECT:** Approval of Reappointments to the Education Practices Commission (EPC)

## PROPOSED BOARD ACTION

For Approval

## **AUTHORITY FOR STATE BOARD ACTION**

Section 1012.79, Florida Statutes

## **EXECUTIVE SUMMARY**

Section 1012.79, Florida Statutes, requires that the Education Practices Commission be comprised of 25 members appointed by the State Board of Education from nominations by the Commissioner of Education and subject to Senate confirmation. Of the 25 members, 10 must be teachers, 5 administrators (at least one of whom shall represent a private school), 6 lay citizens (4 of whom shall be parents of public school students and who are unrelated to public school employees) and 2 of whom shall be former charter school governing board or district school board members or former superintendents, assistant superintendents, or deputy superintendents; and 4 sworn law enforcement officials.

Nominations for reappointment:

Christopher Gunter, Law Enforcement, Highlands County Sheriff's Office Jeffrey Johnson, Jr., Teacher, Saint Lucie County School District Brandon Wright, Teacher, Hernando County School District

**Supporting Documentation Included:** Resumes for Christopher Gunter, Jeffrey Johnson and Brandon Wright; Section 1012.79, Florida Statutes; and List of Current Education Practices Commission Members

Facilitator/Presenter: Dr. Paul O. Burns, Deputy Chancellor for Educator Quality