STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION Consent Item July 15, 2020

SUBJECT: Approval of Postsecondary Education for Certain Military Personnel Work Group Appointments

PROPOSED BOARD ACTION

For Approval

AUTHORITY FOR STATE BOARD ACTION

CS/HB 171 Passed and Signed by Governor DeSantis, amending s. 1004.096, Florida Statutes

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

CS/HB 171 was signed following its passage during the 2020 Legislative session. The bill requires the Articulation Coordinating Committee (ACC) to work in consultation with Department of Veterans' Affairs, the Board of Governors and the State Board of Education to form a workgroup to develop a process for determining postsecondary course equivalencies for courses taken and occupations held by individuals during their service in the military. The Office of Articulation within the Florida Department of Education will provide the administrative support for the workgroup.

To begin this effort, the Office of Articulation will convene the workgroup outlined in the bill by July 15, 2020. The workgroup will be composed of 13 members.

Board action is required for approval of the two members representing faculty from career centers, appointed by the State Board of Education. Those two members are:

- Diane Culpepper, PhD Director, Lake Technical College
- Ann Leonard Director, Haney Technical Center

The following four members were appointed by Chair Tuck as required by CS/HB 171:

- Allison Shenofsky, Veterans Affairs Coordinator, St. Petersburg College
- Diego Tibaquira, Associate Professor, Miami Dade College
- John Jewett, Executive Director of Public Service and Technology Programs, Florida Gateway College
- Julie Stein, Program Coordinator/Office of Articulation, Florida State College at Jacksonville

Supporting Documentation Included: CS/HB 171, s. 1004.096, F.S, Resumes for Diane Culpepper and Ann Leonard

Facilitator/Presenter: Rod Duckworth, Executive Director of Articulation